The Reader’s Block is Over!

Hey guys,

I know I said it already but as I’m so excited about it I am going to repeat it: My reader’s block is over!

The Reader

The past almost five months I couldn’t pick up a book for my life. Part of the reason might be that I spent this time abroad and besides the new things I could do there I would spend my evenings off with hoovering over my laptop in the hope to hear from friends and family at home. Other part of the reason might be that some people abroad gave me a hard time to live with them (which is a story for another time should I ever feel like talking about it) and I rather spent my time pondering about anything and everything.

It was exactly today a week ago that I finally decided to pick up a book again, and this book happened to be Oscar Wilde’s ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’. It had been shitting on my shelf for about a year then and I felt like the time as come to finally flip it open. So no sooner said than done I was captured in the World of Dorian Gray, Lord Henry Wotton and Basil Hallward. When I had finished the book I couldn’t wait to pick up the next, so I went and got ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee and ‘The Red Pony’ by John Steinbeck. Back home I realized I also had Waris Dirie’s ‘Desert Flower’ chilling around, picked it up first and read in in less than twenty-four hours.

My BooksI was about to pick up ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’, but then decided I first wanted to finish the books I had started to read before the block set in. The one I want to finish first is ‘The Outsiders’ by S.E. Hinton, then I am finally going to finish/re-read ‘The Catcher in the Rye’ by J.D. Salinger (I promise, Lauren) and then I am going to finish ‘On the Road’ by Jack Kerouac.

I have to finish now and run to get the next book. Thank God I can read again- there’s something so calming about picking up a book and dive into worlds different from ours.

Talk to you soon,
Debby

About RushOfDeb

Rambling, mostly.
This entry was posted in Book Lovers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Reader’s Block is Over!

  1. I also had readers block, but decided to finish reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. I want to finish before the end of the month

    Like

Leave a Reply

